Welcome to
St Saviour's Primary School Toowoomba


Curriculum Structure

At St Saviour’s Primary School, our curriculum is established according to the Australian Curriculum set out by ACARA and the Religious Education Curriculum as prescribed by the Archdiocese of Brisbane.

When planning, teachers look to the Australian Curriculum and plan how best to facilitate learning opportunities for our students.  The Australian Curriculum has three dimensions: the core knowledge, understanding, skills set out in subjects, general capabilities and cross-curricula priorities.

The learning areas taught at St Saviour’s Primary School are:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Health & Physical Education (HPE)
  • Languages (Indonesian in Years 4 to 6)

Teachers plan in year level teams and are supported by other staff, including our Learning Support Teacher (LST), Intervention Teacher, Teacher Librarian, Middle Leader, Assistant Principal (Religious Education) and Guidance Counsellor, to cater for the diverse needs of students in each class.

  • Specialist teachers facilitate learning in all year levels (from Prep – Year 6)
  • Health & Physical Education (specifically athletics, ball skills and team games)
  • The Arts (specifically Music and Dance, Speech and Drama)
  • Languages (specifically Indonesian)

Through the Religious Life of the School, our shared values and beliefs permeate our school culture in a similar way to the other cross-curricular priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Sustainability and Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia.